Arundel, Sussex in Style!
Arundel is Sussex in style according to the official town website when describing this quintessential market town. It is also a magnet for tourists who are attracted to Arundel's historic castle and cathedral.along with its art galleries, cafe bars, pubs and restaurants.
Arundel is also a successful town for Amberley House Cottage Holidays since we are able to offer an increasing number of Arundel holiday cottages for your enjoyment from the Sail Loft in a stunning riverside setting on the River Arun to cosy cottages on the hill at the top of the town, and then there is Byass House a gorgeous Georgian townhouse that can sleep up to ten guests which is close to both Arundel Castle and Arundel Cathedral and has the most wonderful south facing private walled garden.
In addition we can offer four stunning holiday cottages just outside Arundel in the villages of Warningcamp and Wepham barely two miles away along the Arun Valley.
So if you are considering visiting Arundel for a holiday, here is some interesting information about this wonderful historic town;
The original part of Arundel Castle is the Motte an artificial mound 100 feet high above the moat which was built in 1068 by the Norman Roger de Montgomery cousin of William the Conqueror and one of the greatest magnates. He was Earl of Arundel, Chichester and Shrewsbury.
Every time Arundel Castle extended or improved Arundel enjoyed bursts of prosperity especially in the 18th and 19th century. Our own Byass House in Maltravers Street is an example of this development during the Georgian period. Cottages built up the hill, where we offer Cathedral View, Howard Cottage and St Mary's holiday cottages were originally built for the Duke of Norfolk's tenants.
Arundel was once a busy port frequented by smugglers who channelled their goods through 20 of Arundel's local pubs and taverns. Littlehampton on the mouth of the River Arun took over as the port of choice towards the end of the nineteenth century. Today tourism supports the town who visit its wide range of independent specialist shops, art galleries and antique centres such as the Nineveh Centre in Tarrant Street once the Roman Catholic Church until it was replaced by Arundel Cathedral. The Nineveh today houses a cooperative of 14 independent stores for antiques, vintage clothes, artefacts, vintage radios and much more.
The cathedral was built for the 13th Duke between 1869 and 1872. It occupies a commanding position at the top of the town near to the castle grounds that lead into Arundel Park. The top of the town borders the new South Downs National Park.
Arundel Castle remains the home of the Dukes of Norfolk, 850 years on, The current Duke is the 18th. The castle has been open seasonally to visitors for nearly 200 years now.