Finding Your Cottages
 

Sea Bank

The Sussex Coast
5 guests
 more photos
 more photos
BOOK NOW - 7 nights from £575.00

Sea Bank

The Sussex Coast
  • 5 guests
  • 3 bedrooms
  • 2 bathrooms
  • Access Statement
  • BBQ
  • Child friendly
  • Cycle store
  • Dishwasher
  • Allocated parking
  • Ensuite facilities
  • Garden
  • Ground floor bedroom and bathroom
  • Linen and towels included
  • Pets welcome
  • Real fire
  • Television
  • Washing facilities
  • Wi-Fi

A walker’s delight! With enviable views of coast and countryside next to the Hastings Country Park, with footpaths leading to the beach and cliff top walks, this spacious holiday home has everything you are looking for when choosing a getaway in East Sussex.

Sea Bank is nestled on the top of a hill with far reaching views of the coast and stunning countryside. The cottage has three bedrooms including one single room, one twin with modern ensuite shower room and one kingsize room with views over the beautiful garden. The large lounge has french doors opening onto the garden, with an open fire and plenty of space for everyone to snuggle down after a day exploring the 1066 area. There is a 43” flatscreen TV with Freesat, DVD player, Wifi and bluetooth speakers, so entertainment is sorted if you decide to spend time indoors. There is a little study area in the lounge with a desk, in case you need to bring work away with you.

There is a family bathroom and separate WC in the hallway off the lounge.

The kitchen diner is where the views come into their own and with an Aga cooker in the centre of the kitchen it is a popular spot to dwell over lazy breakfasts and long lunches and for the summer evening when you wish to dine alfresco, a door leads to a terrace with table and chairs.

There is a separate utility room and a sunroom which is the perfect place for storing bicycles securely if you wish to bring them with you, or drying off beach wetsuits and kit.

The garden is mainly laid to lawn and slopes quite steeply in places, so care is needed when exploring. There is a path that leads down from the garden to the beach and is a gentle ten minute stroll, longer on the return journey as it is all uphill.

The owners are happy for you to bring your dog away too but kindly ask that they are restricted to the sunroom or kitchen diner during their stay, I expect a position by the Aga will prove very popular in the winter months.

Pett and beyond

Sea Bank is situated in the village of Pett, with a village Post Office selling general provisions, two pubs, a popular tea room and a church. In the vicinity are spectacular cliff top walks, a local nature reserve and bird sanctuary. Hastings Country Park Nature Reserve, stretching from Hastings to Cliff End & Pett Level where it gives access to the beach, is a unique 660 acre area of maritime sandstone cliff, with a cliff top area of grassland and heath, woodland, glens covered with gorse and trees, nature trails and spectacular walks, one of which leads to the coast at Fairlight Glen. Set in the High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, most of the park has been designated a special Area of Conservation and a Site of Special Scientific Interest & is a walkers' paradise.

A walker’s delight! With enviable views of coast and countryside next to the Hastings Country Park, with footpaths leading to the beach and cliff top walks, this spacious holiday home has everything you are looking for when choosing a getaway in East Sussex.

Sea Bank is nestled on the top of a hill with far reaching views of the coast and stunning countryside. The cottage has three bedrooms including one single room, one twin with modern ensuite shower room and one kingsize room with views over the beautiful garden. The large lounge has french doors opening onto the garden, with an open fire and plenty of space for everyone to snuggle down after a day exploring the 1066 area. There is a 43” flatscreen TV with Freesat, DVD player, Wifi and bluetooth speakers, so entertainment is sorted if you decide to spend time indoors. There is a little study area in the lounge with a desk, in case you need to bring work away with you.

There is a family bathroom and separate WC in the hallway off the lounge.

The kitchen diner is where the views come into their own and with an Aga cooker in the centre of the kitchen it is a popular spot to dwell over lazy breakfasts and long lunches and for the summer evening when you wish to dine alfresco, a door leads to a terrace with table and chairs.

There is a separate utility room and a sunroom which is the perfect place for storing bicycles securely if you wish to bring them with you, or drying off beach wetsuits and kit.

The garden is mainly laid to lawn and slopes quite steeply in places, so care is needed when exploring. There is a path that leads down from the garden to the beach and is a gentle ten minute stroll, longer on the return journey as it is all uphill.

The owners are happy for you to bring your dog away too but kindly ask that they are restricted to the sunroom or kitchen diner during their stay, I expect a position by the Aga will prove very popular in the winter months.

Pett and beyond

Sea Bank is situated in the village of Pett, with a village Post Office selling general provisions, two pubs, a popular tea room and a church. In the vicinity are spectacular cliff top walks, a local nature reserve and bird sanctuary. Hastings Country Park Nature Reserve, stretching from Hastings to Cliff End & Pett Level where it gives access to the beach, is a unique 660 acre area of maritime sandstone cliff, with a cliff top area of grassland and heath, woodland, glens covered with gorse and trees, nature trails and spectacular walks, one of which leads to the coast at Fairlight Glen. Set in the High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, most of the park has been designated a special Area of Conservation and a Site of Special Scientific Interest & is a walkers' paradise.

Hastings is around 5 miles away and has a traditional seaside feel, with its bustling arcades and fresh fish stalls. Hastings Old Town is picturesque and quaint, with a mixture of antique shops, boutiques and cafes. The town is famous for the biggest beach fishing fleet in Europe and much of the tradition has been kept. The net drying huts and fishing fleet can be found on the beach today, along with the many fresh fish stalls. The Jerwood Gallery and The Shipwreck and Coastal Heritage Museum are worth a visit.

The Medieval town of Rye is 5 miles away and a visit to the Heritage Centre is a must, where you can watch the Town model's 'Sound and Light' show, which goes into detail about the history and the colourful past of Rye and its inhabitants. Or amble around the many antique shops in the Strand Quay and hunt out a bargain!

A short drive away is the Rye Harbour Nature Reserve, where you can walk along the sea wall and out on to the marshes to enjoy flora and fauna. You can choose to walk out to Camber Castle, originally located on a shingle spit and where once it protected the towns of Rye and Winchelsea before the sea receded. Although no longer open to visitors it is still a striking landmark worth a visit. The beach of Camber Sands is just a short drive away and has miles of sandy beach and dunes to explore. Or visit the rock pools at low tide on the pebbly beach at Pett Level, just a 10 minute downhill stroll from Sea Bank.

The Town of Ashford is about a thirty minute drive and If you wish to take a day trip to the continent the Eurostar can be picked up from Ashford International station and trains to Paris, Lille and Brussels are available. Alternatively the ferries run from Dover just 45 minutes away or the Channel Tunnel from Folkestone a 45 minute drive.

Places to visit

Jerwood Gallery - Hastings

Rye Heritage Centre

Battle Abbey

What's on

Jack in the Green Festival Hastings — May

Rye Arts Festival — September

Hastings Food and Wine Festival — September

Rye Bonfire — November

  • Local shop — 3 miles Winchelsea Beach
  • Nearest supermarket — 4 miles Ore
  • Nearest restaurant — 5 miles Rye/Hastings
  • Local pub — 0.5 miles Pett
  • Local bus service — 347 to Hastings/Rye bus stop at the top of the drive
  • Mainline rail service — 5 miles to Rye/Hastings for services to Brighton, Hastings, Ashford and London
  • Nearest airport — 52 miles to Gatwick
Read more

Floorplan

Sea Bank - 414730 Sea Bank. Quirky character cottage located in Pett, surrounded by countryside and coastline, short drive from Rye & Hastings, great location for walkers & families.

Reviews

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
3.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
4.0
4.3 OUT OF 5

May 2018

Fantastic outlook and very quiet

"Beautiful setting looking down to the sea and the other way over rolling fields towards Fairlight church tower. The beds were very comfortable but the water pressure for the showers were very low. My sister was over from New Zealand so we took our father who celebrated his 89th birthday at the cottage. We enjoyed a very peaceful holiday here going out for days to Great Dixter and Sissinghurst, beautiful gardens. "

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
5.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
5.0 OUT OF 5

May 2018

A holiday at Sea Bank

"We had a lovely week at Sea Bank with it's fantastic views and close proximity to beach which was brilliant for our dogs. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. The cottage was very clean and well equipped with comfortable beds. We shall be back next year hopefully."

Cleanliness 
3.0
Service and Staff 
4.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
3.0
3.8 OUT OF 5

April 2018

Peaceful and beautiful scenery

"Lovely stay at this cottage, lovely garden for kids (and adults) to run around in, great beach close by and lovely pubs to eat at. All in all a very relaxing stay."

Cleanliness 
2.0
Service and Staff 
1.0
Comfort 
2.0
Condition 
2.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
2.0
2.3 OUT OF 5

January 2018

Disappointed to say the least - will use Air BnB in future

"We normally book Air BnB and this experience has underlined why we do. The location was excellent and had the property matched the location it would have been lovely. However, on entering it was clear that whilst it may have been cleaned - it wasn't to an acceptable standard. There was rubbish remaining from previous occupants. There was no basket of logs (as detailed) the matchbox was empty so even if there had been logs it would not have helped. We therefore had to go out and find somewhere to buy the logs - not a major issue but on arriving the last ting we wanted to do after driving for 2.5 hours was go out again, The information book did not help as when we phoned the man whose contact details were in the book he told us that he does not look after the property any more and hadn't for some time. We then phoned the booking company and were told they would put a bag of logs in.........we are still waiting........ The worst thing was that the duvet in the main bedroom absolutely reeked of damp and made it impossible to sleep. We swapped the duvet for two singles after the first night which made it a bit better but the bed also had an air of damp smell. To that end we stayed for three nights and left two days early. The much hoped for and much needed rest we sought left us even more tired and glad to leave. Safe to say that we will not be using this company again and will definitely NOT be recommending to anyone unless it is to avoid."

Dear David, We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Sea Bank. We have a new Housekeeping service who have clearly failed to keep to our high standards. They have apologised for the problems you encountered and we will ensure that these issues do not arise again. Normally, we are able to resolve any concerns immediately, so I do apologise for the poor communication on this occasion. With best wishes, Claire and Hugh." We are so sorry to hear your feedback. The booking came through one of our partner sites and sadly your concerns were never relayed to us, so we were not given the opportunity to deal with your issues. Jacqui Maxted


Cleanliness 
4.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
4.7 OUT OF 5

November 2017

Beautiful

"Fabulous location with fantastic view, the house is comfortable, spacious and clean. We will definitely come back."

Cleanliness 
3.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
4.0
Value For Money 
3.0
4.0 OUT OF 5

October 2017

Seabank- a characterful house with beautiful views from every window and plenty of walks

"A charming house in its own beautiful grounds. The views are magnificent and the walks could go on forever. Great location for visiting Rye and the other surrounding historic places of interest. If you want to get away from "it all" the only noise is that of the birds and the sheep, perfect for our needs. The long narrow drive to the garage of the house is not too difficult however the turning area at the very bottom of the steeper drive to the house could put some people off if walking is difficult for them as quite steep. We and our four legged friends loved every minute of our stay, the house is always warm and friendly because of the Aga, so you don't have any worries cooking - the temperature is always ready to go! A fabulous open log fire in the sitting room if you need it lends itself to cosy nights in playing board games. The house is very well equipped with everything, the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of space. We walked every day to the beach and beyond and were blessed with good weather. We wanted somewhere that had walks which were easy to access and this was perfect for us as we did not need the car to drive to a walk. The local pubs are accessible by foot and perfectly good for pub food. We would definitely go back again possibly in the winter but would make sure to bring plenty of provisions to avoid driving up and down the steep lane too many times. "

Cleanliness 
4.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
5.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
4.8 OUT OF 5

September 2017

excellent cottage

"Excellent cottage,location,comfotable But no longs were left for us We bought some and left remaining logs for next person"

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and found the location, comfort and property, excellent. We are sorry no logs were left for your stay, an oversight by the housekeeper.


Cleanliness 
4.0
Service and Staff 
4.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
5.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
4.7 OUT OF 5

August 2017

Wonderful week spent in a fantastic property

"Sea Bank has got to be one of the nicest holiday properties we have ever stayed in. The location offers a beautiful combination of pleasant countryside with views of the sea which is only a few minutes walk away. The bungalow is tastefully decorated with comfortable furnishings, spacious and is well equipped with all mod cons. It is surrounded by a large garden which is well kept and includes lovely outdoor furniture. It's the sort of place where you don't need to venture off each day but just relax and enjoy it's ambience. "

Cleanliness 
3.0
Service and Staff 
4.0
Comfort 
3.0
Condition 
3.0
Location 
3.0
Value For Money 
3.0
3.2 OUT OF 5

August 2017

Cleaniness

"Very dusty floors ,not as clean as expected.cobwebs with dead spiders ,grandson aged 6 said it was not very ?lean .also Wasp Nest in Wall by the dining room ,bought wasp nest spray but got stung twice,they were getting inside through the cavity,not very safe to let grandchildren out."

Thank you for letting us know that a wasps nest caused some problems and that you weren't completely happy with the standard of cleaning. We always welcome feedback, good or bad, as it helps us to maintain the highest standards for our guests. Your comments have been passed on to our cleaning team and their work will be monitored more closely. The wasps nest has also been removed. In future, please do let us know as soon as anything needs attention so that we can fix the problem asap and allow you to enjoy your holiday.


Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
4.0
4.7 OUT OF 5

July 2017

A lovely base for a Sussex holiday

"We had a great week staying at Seabank. The location is idyllic with panoramic views over countryside to the sea. The house is very interesting architecturally and comfortably furnished. The aga makes a quirky addition. The village of Pett has great pubs and there is lots to see the area. We had a very memorable holiday. Lorraine , John and Ian Wilson"

Cleanliness 
2.0
Service and Staff 
2.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
3.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
3.0
3.2 OUT OF 5

June 2017

Our stay at Seabank was a mixed blessing.

"The house was interesting and had incredibly beautiful views, but the condition of the house itself was not great. We had to start with washing the windows -- inside and out -- because they were so dirty that we could barely see through them. This is something we would not have done had it been a weekend stay but our commitment was for three weeks thus we set to work and well worth the effort since we could then admire the garden which was huge, full with roses, but again not at all well cared for. Would we go again, I think yes, because of the location, good and close to Hastings, and the views, which I already mentioned, were incredible. Would I recommend this property to others? I would but would also tell them to be prepared for spider webs behind beds, dirty windows and the like. Peter"

Dear Peter, Thank you for leaving a review. However, we are so sorry to hear that you weren't completely happy with the standard of cleaning at Sea Bank. We would have rectified any issues immediately if you had contacted our housekeeper and made him aware of the problem. We hope that you will return one day to enjoy another break at Sea Bank and would urge all visitors to get in touch during their stay if ever they feel that anything needs attention. With very best wishes, Claire and Hugh


Cleanliness 
4.0
Service and Staff 
4.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
4.0
Value For Money 
4.0
4.0 OUT OF 5

May 2017

A gem of a find apart from awful parking!

"Lovely property with stunning views but beware of awful parking facilities. Parking is available outside the garage of the property which is reached via a very narrow unmade track or down the very steep slope outside the bungalow. Our SUV struggled to make it back up the steep accent so we left the it outside the garage and walked down to the property - this will be unsuitable for someone with limited mobility. "

Cleanliness 
4.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
4.5 OUT OF 5

April 2017

A beautiful and cosy house.

"I think in the dark it is hard to find.Beautiful view from the Garden. The house has really got everything."

Cleanliness 
3.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
3.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
4.3 OUT OF 5

April 2017

A great place to stay. Lovely garden and sea views

"It was a great place to stay the circular area in the kitchen is a great communal area. We are not great fans of Agas but we managed ok. The garden is fabulous."

Cleanliness 
4.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
4.7 OUT OF 5

March 2017

Sea Bank February 2017

"Sea Bank is a lovely house with fantastic views. We stayed in the house in February and found it warm and welcoming. We had our dour dog with us and he loved the walks along the Pett level and down to Rye harbour. There are numerous walks around the house but heavy rain showers made these difficult to access, we hope to return and sample some more of them. There are many pubs in the area that are dog friendly and serve excellent food at a reasonable price. The lane down to the house is very narrow and is a tight fit for a large family car, a little daunting when you first arrive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
5.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
5.0 OUT OF 5

October 2016

A great place

"We found Sea Bank such a lovely house - It is exceptionally comfortable and has beautiful peaceful panoramic views from the living rooms. The only mild difficulty was the Aga as we hadn't used one before; it also warmed the bedroom behind it and the weather was exceptionally warm. There's lots to see and for lovers of chocolate drinks Knoops in Rye was a discovery. (Best milkshakes ever but check opening times.) We give Sea Bank full marks for comfort and would love to go there again but for longer next time.. "

See all reviews for this property

Location

BOOK NOW - 7 nights from £575.00
Check availability
Not available
Available start dates
Your selection

Send An Enquiry

For enquiries about this property (or any other enquiries) please fill in the form below.

Information, news and offers

Sign up to our newsletter for latest news and special offers