Finding Your Cottages
 

Warre Cottage

The South Downs
6 guests
 more photos
 more photos
BOOK NOW - 7 nights from £765.00

Warre Cottage

Burpham
  • 6 guests
  • 3 bedrooms
  • 2 bathrooms
  • BBQ
  • Cycle store
  • Dishwasher
  • Ensuite facilities
  • Garden
  • Linen and towels included
  • Pets welcomeup to two small dogs
  • Real fire
  • Television
  • Washing facilities
  • Wi-Fi

Enjoy this rural country cottage in the heart of Burpham village, just two miles from Arundel it is a special retreat.

Warre Cottage is the type of property you would imagine retiring to. Live in a beautiful cottage in a wonderful village setting and have the village pub nearby! Well if it can't come soon enough then treat yourself to a few days away in this gem of a country cottage. Set in most picturesque and private cottage gardens this detached cottage is just two miles from Arundel and has an abundance of footpaths to the South Downs on the doorstep. From the gardens and upstairs windows there is the most glorious outlook and the garden beckons guests to relax and enjoy those lazy summer days.

The cottage is bright and traditionally furnished and is a comfortable size for up to six guests. It has three upstairs bedrooms, the principal bedroom has a king sized bed with an ensuite shower room. The second bedroom with a dual outlook gives a fresh and bright feel and is fitted with twin beds, and the third bedroom has a standard double bed. The family bathroom is fitted with a bath and shower attachment.

The gardens here just encourage and welcome you outside and offer complete privacy. They are neatly maintained offering many areas to meander around and explore. There is a raised path which guests need to take care when using that really opens up the views over the Sussex Downs. Yes this is a great cottage to enjoy.

Burpham and beyond

Burpham is actually paired with a second small village, Wepham, barely half a mile away and both villages nestle at the foot of the South Downs. They are reached by road from the south, go any further north and you are on the Downs, so here you will find there is no through traffic!

Enjoy this rural country cottage in the heart of Burpham village, just two miles from Arundel it is a special retreat.

Warre Cottage is the type of property you would imagine retiring to. Live in a beautiful cottage in a wonderful village setting and have the village pub nearby! Well if it can't come soon enough then treat yourself to a few days away in this gem of a country cottage. Set in most picturesque and private cottage gardens this detached cottage is just two miles from Arundel and has an abundance of footpaths to the South Downs on the doorstep. From the gardens and upstairs windows there is the most glorious outlook and the garden beckons guests to relax and enjoy those lazy summer days.

The cottage is bright and traditionally furnished and is a comfortable size for up to six guests. It has three upstairs bedrooms, the principal bedroom has a king sized bed with an ensuite shower room. The second bedroom with a dual outlook gives a fresh and bright feel and is fitted with twin beds, and the third bedroom has a standard double bed. The family bathroom is fitted with a bath and shower attachment.

The gardens here just encourage and welcome you outside and offer complete privacy. They are neatly maintained offering many areas to meander around and explore. There is a raised path which guests need to take care when using that really opens up the views over the Sussex Downs. Yes this is a great cottage to enjoy.

Burpham and beyond

Burpham is actually paired with a second small village, Wepham, barely half a mile away and both villages nestle at the foot of the South Downs. They are reached by road from the south, go any further north and you are on the Downs, so here you will find there is no through traffic!

Many visitors however arrive on foot from walking on the Downs and take the opportunity of refreshment at the George Inn, a delightful pub in the heart of the village and only 100 metres from Warre Cottage. There are many attractive period properties in the village and its a delight to wander through. Opposite the pub is the Norman Church of St Mary's and walk through the church grounds and the views quickly open out onto the Arun Valley and the South Downs. This area is ideal for walking and from the lower slopes of the Downs there are wonderful views to the coast and to the east and west.

Arundel two miles away is a historic market town dominated by the symbolic castle that can be seen to the south of Burpham. It offers a plethora of craft and antique shops as well as restaurants and tearooms. It's a great place to visit and just enjoy the hospitality during any day of the week.

Arundel Castle is the seat of the Dukes of Norfolk and is set in 40 acres of sweeping grounds and gardens. The castle has been seasonally open to visitors for nearly 200 years. It is one of the great treasure houses of England and is home to priceless works of art in stunning rooms. Climbing the 131 steps to the Keep which dates from the 11th Century to take in the views over Arundel and The South Downs is definitely worth the effort.

Beyond the castle grounds, Arundel Park extends north towards the Downs offering many fine walks. The park is clearly visible across the valley from the cottage.

The River Arun winds its way around the town and is a magnet for wildlife. With more than 60 acres of ponds, lakes and reed beds, Arundel Wetland Trust attracts some of the world's most spectacular ducks, geese and swans. The best way to enjoy the river is on a river cruise stopping off at the Black Rabbit pub or proceeding further north where the river hugs the scarp wooded slope at the foot of the Downs before reaching Amberley.

Further afield Climping Beach and Littlehampton’s West Beach are only a short drive away. This is a beautiful unspoilt length of beach of Special Scientific Interest and at the eastern end beside the mouth of the River Arun is the West Beach Café built by local craftsmen using materials sourced locally. It is worth a visit, the fish and chips come highly recommended!

Goodwood and Fontwell racecourses are nearby along with the cathedral city of Chichester with its excellent Festival Theatre noted for not only the quality of productions but also the fact many world premieres are featured as well.

If you fancy a day in the city, Arundel mainline station is on a direct route to London so why not mix the cosmopolitan capital with this great place to stay.

Places to visit

Arundel Castle

Arundel Wetland Trust

Chichester Cathedral

What's on

Goodwood Festival of Speed — June/July

Arundel Festival — August

Goodwood Revival — September

Read more
Warre Cottage - 91246 Warre Cottage. Luxury cottage accommodation near Arundel, West Sussex. Set in Burpham village, perfect for walking South Downs, visiting Arundel Castle and Sussex coast.

Reviews

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
2.0
Condition 
5.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
2.0
4.0 OUT OF 5

December 2018

Beautiful property in a superb location but too poorly heated for a short winter break

"Warre Cottage is in a superb location, beautifully furnished with very comfortable beds. However, it was cold, damp and smelt musty when we arrived. The heating thermostat was set to 10 degrees and it was evident that the property had not been heated for some time. It actually registered 13 degrees. We had to over-ride the heating controls to put the heating on continuously. By the morning of the second day the temperature had risen to 18 degrees. It was a day and a half into our four day stay before we felt at all comfortable. I note that a visitor in winter 2017 made a similar complaint in the visitors book. It is obviously a prevailing problem. Unless the owner is prepared to heat the property in winter, in particular before visitors arrive, I cannot in all conscience recommend this property for short winter breaks. It is a shame because it is a wonderful cottage in all other ways. It would be lovely in summer. "

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
5.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
5.0 OUT OF 5

November 2018

Beautiful home for a family getaway

"We were four adults and two children, and the house was the perfect size for us for a long weekend. It was tastefully decorated and well-equipped, but not cluttered. Beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms and kitchen were clean. Directions for finding keys were spot on. Some things to note: we arrived after dark and the gate was a little bit difficult to locate, so it's probably better to arrive during the day. It's on a fairly narrow lane, which is to be expected in the country, but we weren't sure where to park - I may have missed that detail in the information provided. Internet worked well, but there was no mobile reception, so my husband had to drive to Arundel to do a few work calls. Fortunately, it's a quick drive to town. Also, my husband arrived by train after us, and it was helpful that Arundel station is very close by. We had dinner at the pub that is just a short walk away, and it as very good, and we also took a lovely walk right from the house, so it's not always necessary to drive. The house was extremely cold when we arrived. We were able to figure out the heating controls fairly quickly but it took a very long time for the house to warm up. Maybe the cleaning staff could turn the heat on before guests arrive. These are very minor issues. It's a wonderful house in a gorgeous setting, and we had a great time! "

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
4.8 OUT OF 5

November 2018

Autumn Stay

"Lovely old house with real period furniture, spacious, beautiful peaceful location but easy drive to Arundel and lots of public paths and bridleways nearby for hiking and running trails. We stayed in early November so it was very good value. Pub 100m away. Radiators and hot water are driven by the Rayburn in the kitchen, so lovely warm kitchen. However it takes longer to respond to changes to settings and does not make water as hot as a modern boiler would, so showers and baths not as hot. Generally well kitted out but for a Raybun one could do with an oven glove and some cast iron pans. "

Cleanliness 
4.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
3.0
4.2 OUT OF 5

September 2018

A quietly situated and attractive country cottage which could benefit from a little updating

"This is a light, sunny and generously proportioned cottage with comfy beds but not so comfy sofas, where we recently spent three enjoyable weeks. It's very traditional, bordering on old-fashioned. The Rayburn takes some getting used to, but the owner responded immediately to my questions. Someone had switched the shower pump off so a dribble on the first morning was not a great start in the en-suite. The village, pub, church and locals, are all charming, This is great walking country, with beaches not far away. Parham House and Goodwood House are also interesting to visit in addition to Arundel Castle. Try the Thomas Heatherwick designed East Beach Cafe in Littlehampton overlooking the sea. "

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
1.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
3.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
3.0
3.7 OUT OF 5

June 2018

Day1/2 horrible (no hot water. Thereafter as usual excellent. Your customer service was excellent

"Day1/2 horrible (no hot water). Thereafter as usual excellent. Your customer service was excellent."

Thank you for booking Warre Cottage for your 3rd visit, the reason for there being no hot water was because it had not been turned on as per our instructions in the welcome folder. The issue was only brought to our attention on the morning after your arrival and a plumber was sent out to switch it on for you that same day.


Cleanliness 
4.0
Service and Staff 
3.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
4.0
Value For Money 
4.0
3.8 OUT OF 5

January 2018

Winter walking holiday for a family of 5 and a little dog.

"A perfect location to access lots of beautiful circular walks. The charming cottage had all of the amenities we needed."

Cleanliness 
4.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
3.0
4.2 OUT OF 5

October 2017

Great location to base the holiday

"This is property is a good all-rounder. Room enough for everyone, great for walks and peace and quiet. Some little niggles, the shower waste pipe blocked appears not to have been cleaned for sometime and the black waste was returning back into the shower unable to use on the last day as the water would not disperse :-(, kitchen tap very loose. Owner was advised by text and apologies sent and stated she would arrange for the house keeper to resolve hopefully problem sorted! Please, please can a cupboard in the kitchen be left empty for visitors to put their food things in, common problem for self catering properties. I have not used Amberley Hs Cottage Holidays before but with the service received and communication I would be happy to use their service again. "

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
4.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
4.0
4.3 OUT OF 5

May 2017

Review of Warre Cottage

"A large cosy, comfortable house with an amazing garden. Located in a small quiet village with an excellent local pub which is dog-friendly and serves good food. Fantastic local walks, including to the charming town of Arundel a couple of miles away. Cooking is by Rayburn so you need to be familiar with its operation."

Cleanliness 
4.0
Service and Staff 
4.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
4.0
4.2 OUT OF 5

May 2017

Lovely cottage, lovely garden, great position

"The rooms were lovely and comfortable. Our only reservation is the Rayburn. We always like to cook when we stay with friends (which is what we were doing) and not being familiar with a Rayburn was a major drawback. "

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
4.7 OUT OF 5

April 2017

Lovely cottage next to a great pub

"The cottage is located in the village of Burpham - 3 miles from Arundel. It is a quiet village and really pretty - has one pub and a church. The garden is stunning but not really suitable for small dogs as we discovered when we chased one of our dogs through the village 11pm one night. The standard of the cottage and facilities is very good and the main king size bed is really comfortable. My only concerns were - the heating system is connected to a Rayburn and complicated - the previous occupants had pressed some buttons and we had no hot water. The mobile signal is not great there but there is good wifi. They could do with providing larger towels and a bath mat for the shower. I would recommend visiting the pub - The George at Burpham. Great food and wines and beers."

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
5.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
5.0 OUT OF 5

January 2017

Christmas at Warre

"We had a wonderful break here at this beautiful establishment which just lends itself to Christmas. The decor is to a very high spec and so in keeping with the style of house.The location is stunning and a warm welcome can be found at the local pub. On Boxing Day we had the added treat of watching Morris Dancers/ Mummers perform as the pub provided hot food(delicious chicken curry)and drink to the audience. The close proximity to Arundel and Amberley Castle was a bonus. My only comment for consideration would be regarding the provision of logs for the fire ,which we went through very quickly. As it was Christmas, we were stuck for purchasing more. However it did not stop us enjoying the house and all it offered."

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
2.0
Comfort 
3.0
Condition 
4.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
3.0
3.7 OUT OF 5

November 2016

Warre cottage in late autumn

"Issues with heating as kept cutting out when using cooker to prepare dinner, issues with water pressure as either hot or cold especially in second bathroom so had to wash hair in the bath. No decent fire tools and no fire lighters or newspaper just kindling and wood in the basket next to the fire. No bin bags in bathrooms and only one bin bag for kitchen bin and no pantry to store food. Kitchen table unsafe as missing screws and tips up if lent on even slightly. Lounges are not comfortable and DVD remote doesn't work as has been chewed by a dog. Sensor light doesn't reach steps which you cannot see at night. Poor and intermittent ph mobile phone signal Texted and emailed owner re heating issues got no response had to email rental agent to get sorted as instructions were insufficient. Also regarding towels some got a bath sheet some got a towel and one of us got two bath mats instead of a towel. "

It is disappointing that Warre Cottage just did not work out for you. We feel we must address your comments. Firstly we apologise that you did not find bin liners in the bathrooms, this was an oversight and we are sorry it caused you an inconvenience. There is a supply of recycling bags in the kitchen. Also it is very concerning that you sent text messages and emails to the owner and received no reply. These we can confirm were not received and had they been the owner would have been immediately in contact with you. There are clear instructions on both the Rayburn and the heating in the cottage so you have a consistent heat generated throughout and the Rayburn will function properly at the same time. We want you and all guests to be comfortable which is why those instructions are there. Similarly the water is set to a recommended temperature. The cottage is assessed annually as part of the Quality in Tourism Enjoy England star rating programme. It is thoroughly inspected for both overall comfort, presentation and safety. Every guest also has a bath towel and hand towel that is placed at the foot of the bed on arrival, It is possible that some bath towels may be a little bigger than others. I can confirm there are fire tongs, fire lighters, kindling and logs in the cottage for all guests. There is a walk in pantry off the kitchen with wooden slatted shelves for guest use, it is unfortunate you did not find this. There are also torches in the cottage for your use. given this is a downland village without street lighting. We have no control over the mobile phone signal and do not advertise it,which in the South Downs can be intermittent at best.


Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
5.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
4.8 OUT OF 5

October 2016

Our stay at Warre Cottage

"We stayed at Warre Cottage between September 24th and October 8th 2016. The cottage is beautifully restored and sits in lovely gardens which are very private. The village of Burpham is so quiet and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If I had to be negative about anything it would be the lack of comfort in the living room chairs. This was made up for by the very comfortable beds. I would also like to compliment Amberley House Cottage Holidays, who provided excellent customer service throughout, including responding to an email I sent whilst staying at Warre Cottage."

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
5.0
Condition 
5.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
5.0
5.0 OUT OF 5

August 2016

Beautiful cottage & garden

"Cannot fault this cottage, what a gem. Set in a lovely garden full of twists & turns, mature shrubs and fruit trees, surrounded by the awesome South Downs hills, plus it's close to a superb pub, pretty church and many scenic walks. The village of Burpham is delightful, people are friendly and dogs most welcome all around the area. The cottage is very comfortable, everything you need is there for a fantastic stay. Lots to do and see, a week is not long enough and it felt like coming home at the end of each day, because the cottage was really fantastic, with period features, great artwork on the walls and such welcoming beds."

Cleanliness 
5.0
Service and Staff 
5.0
Comfort 
4.0
Condition 
5.0
Location 
5.0
Value For Money 
4.0
4.7 OUT OF 5

August 2016

Fabulous place to chill for a few days.

"3 couples in search of peace from outer London. Great place for walking, starting right from your door. Fantastic food in the pub and great service. We all had a fabulous time. Kitchen was well equipped. We even had a bar b q one night. "

See all reviews for this property

Location

BOOK NOW - 7 nights from £765.00
Check availability
Not available
Available start dates
Your selection

Send An Enquiry

For enquiries about this property (or any other enquiries) please fill in the form below.

Information, news and offers

Sign up to our newsletter for latest news and exclusive special offers